Who are the members of the the Royal Commission of Inquiry into Covid-19 lessons?


The three members are Professor Tony Blakely (Chair), Hon. Hekia Parata, and John Whitehead.

Professor Tony Blakely

Tony BlakelyProfessor Tony Blakely, of Melbourne, specialises in epidemiology and public health medicine. Most of his career was at the University of Otago, Wellington.  His understanding of public health is extensive, and he has published over 300 peer reviewed journal articles, including on the management of Covid-19.


Hon Hekia Parata (Ngāti Porou and Ngāi Tahu)

Hon Hekia ParataHekia Parata, is a former Member of Parliament, whose Ministerial experience spanned numerous portfolios, including Education, Energy and Resources, ACC, Women’s Affairs, Pacific Island Affairs, and Ethnic Affairs.  She has substantial public sector experience and a successful track record of understanding and engaging with Iwi and Māori interests.  Her international OECD work reflects her capability.

John Whitehead

John WhiteheadJohn Whitehead, CNZM, KStJ, of Wellington, is an economist who has extensive public sector experience that includes serving as Minister (economic) at the New Zealand High Commission in London, Economic Advisor to the Prime Minister, Secretary and Chief Executive of the New Zealand Treasury, and as an Executive Director and member of the Board of the World Bank.  He has been appointed to multiple government committees and has previous experience in government inquiries. In 2020 he was appointed Chancellor and Board Chair of the Order of St. John in New Zealand and has served as Chair or Board member of various other charitable and religious organisations